top of page

Interview Questions to programmers-institutions and choreographers in Zurich and in Athens

Last week, I conducted an interview to the head of the Tanzhaus in Zurich about the notion of choreography and the forms it takes in the practices of artists in Zurich. I also asked questions about the precarity of the institution and how and if this relates to its curational decisions.

I plan to make these interviews to choreographers and people that relate to institutions (theatres and spaces that somehow host choreographic works) in Zurich, from now until June and even after the end of the program.

(Institutions I have in my list : Gessneralle theater (to the new directors of it ), Schauspielhaus (because a choreographer will be collaborating with them ) and Theater Neumarkt (for the same reason). Rote Fabrik theater (because it constantly hosts political and social performances, but I am not sure where it stands in relation to dance and choreography).

The reason I am doing this is because I need to understand more about the field in the places that I live and work. I need to make a mapping of what choreography is in these places, in order to find my place, in order to place me in the mapping so to say.

Interview questions

1. What is choreography today? How do you see choreography in your geographical region?

2. If me (or you) as an artist contextualised my (your) work in one of the following terms how would your (the) institution see me? How do you think the field would see me ?

What would change (or not) with the following contextualisations?

choreography

dance

expanded choreography

post-conceptual dance

language choreography

choreographic performance

3. In what ways has language replaced or not movement in the choreographic contexts in your geographical region?

4.1. How has the geographical context shaped the notion of choreography ?

4.2. What differences do you see in the European choreographic scene, and which scene would you choose to bring to your house (to perform at) ?

5) Has the general feeling of precarity influenced your institution and your curational (or artistic) decisions? In other words do you feel precarious in relation to other cultural institutions?

6)What are your cultural politics in relation to artistic development, audience development and educational development? (for institutions)

bottom of page