top of page

Anne and Eleni writing together in silence online, on a mutual time in two different places. Continu

The text that Anne and myself had after 50' of writing in silence on a google doc from two different spaces

(12.11.17) 50'

An inoperative collective is a collective within which people are not connected with a bonding on a trait they have in common (language, ethnicity, etc) it is rather a collective , a community of singularities that come in-common.

So my question is how do we find out or know if people are connected to each other or not?

I mean has this something to do with talking to each other? I could feel also connected to someone I sit next to on the train, and even if we smile at each other I feel connected.

Could this be also a way of collective communication or interaction or not?

Jean-Luc Nancy writes: 'community is not only intimate communication between its members, but also its organic communion with its own essence. it is constituted not only by a fair distribution of tasks and goods, or by happy equilibrium of forces and authorities: it is made up principally of the sharing, diffusion, or impregnation of an identity by a plurality wherein each member identifies himself only through the supplementary mediation of his identification with the living body of the community'.1.

The idea of the identification with the living body of the community keeps my attention. I think we might have lost a bit our personal identification mmh I have to think about this, it's not so clear what I want to say at the moment…

Ok.RIGHT ... I think in the meantime...So we are connected through the worldwide web. This is also something...do we feel more connected through facebook groups or actually by meeting people in person?

Are we asking ourselves about how we feel more connected? Because I thought we were trying to get to the core of the subject/topic we want to propose to start researching for. This is a discussion in silence on the topic we are discussing. I thought the topic was how we can imagine ways of togetherness and not how we feel connected… is it for you more important to discuss on how we feel connected?

Yes. In a way both topics belong together. Togetherness has for me to do also with how we get in contact or not. In many life situations we share space with other people (public space for instance) and do we notice them as part of “togetherness”?

When I think about identification with the living body of the community this comes in my mind.

Who comes into your mind?

What I said above. Togetherness and the feeling of relatedness.

Yes, because what J.L.Nancy describes what I wrote above as what conservative communities of fraternities or religion need in order to come together. Feeling connected was one of the most important things. That's what I don't like in communities and in collectives. I don’t need to feel connected to anyone to get into this collective. I realise we have things in common and that’s why we come in-common. At the moment for example but I don’t really want to feel connected to you in any way. I see us as two singularities that come together for a reason, to write a text together in silence and that’s enough for me. I believe in the community of one for example. The words inoperative community or inoperative collective of singularities make me feel more at ease with the above terms.

I agree, and I also thought that there is and was a tendency to build groups or ideologies using togetherness as 'must have things in common, same beliefs'.etc

This happened also in all the groups of shared communities I have lived so far, Labitzke Kalkbreite, The kibbutz in Israel.

But I don't see you as a person with whom I don't feel connected. For me it would be a constraint to just describe our relationship as artistic, and that we are only connected by the fact that we both write this text in silence. There is more in our relationship. It important to talk about people in groups define togetherness, through emotional identity, or having things in common, how they exclude others..I have to think about it…

How can we create spaces where we take things out of their context and place them there where a new reference is created for them?

1. 'The Inoperative Community', by Jean-Luc Nancy, University of Minnesota Press,1991, p.9

bottom of page