top of page

Meeting with Anne and Devorah 19.11

From now on we are asked to provide the space (Stillpoint spaces) in which we are doing the research every Sunday for a year now, with an article that they can publish every time on what we have been doing. Normally, people need to pay for the space but we are allowed to stay if we write an article about what is happening in each meeting.

We started with a movement exercise (three people ) that had the following principles borrowed by A.B's training in occupational therapy:

1. General movement

Start by doing a general movement. What is a general movement in the body?

After a couple of sessions in which I have seen videos of people doing this and after some sessions I have been doing it, I have observed that:

-A "general" movement no matter how vague it is as a notion (even an impossible movement as -all movement is specific after all ) is connected to:

-fluidity, it is a movement that has a flow and it is not interrupted

- quick rhythm , probably because of the fluidity and continuity of it the rhythm is influenced and it becomes quicker

-it seems as a movement that is not aware in the body. In that sense it reminds me of another principle for moving, which is "move without knowing what you do, let your body take you".

2. Selected moving parts- Specific movement

Here the movement gets more stacato and the rhythm slows down. it is also connected to a more thoughtful activity and therefore reminds me of the principle "move while knowing exactly what you do".

3. Symmetric movement It seems that symmetric has very different connotations to different people. Some people play with forms, so they try to make similar movements to two different parts of the body, to others it means that all body parts do the same thing. The similarity is that people usually agree that a symmetric movement is mostly related to an axis in the body (horizontal, vertical, or diagonal , in different levels ) and try to do similar movements, symmetric to this axis.

4. Stable dynamic asymmetric movement

It seems that is related to a still body part where all the others move. The still part can be a body part or an organ in the body. This movement is the one perceived so much differently by the participants in the sessions we had. (I think because of language. The word dynamic and stable at the same time somehow make a combination that is perceived very differently from person to person.

We took the movement principles and applied them in the writing in silence, in a group exercise.

So three people wrote in silence in a group with the following principles

1st principle : General writing. Try to write something general (taken from the principles in movement) (again here we had the problem that there is actually no "general writing". The moment one writes a word it stops being general any more.

2nd principle: You write something, and then all the writing that follows , follow the way this first word or words are doing, in a symmetrical way.

Here is what we got:

(19.11)

Principles in Writing

1st principle : General writing. Try to write something general (taken from the principles in movement)

We have come together. We are here.

People want to meet together that’s why we all live in a society.

Society, freedom, people, community, common-ing.

The more general words I read, the more I feel part of these concepts. I can identify. I want to identify.

Where does the word identity come from?

Do we have identity in the womb?

There was a woman passing outside of a shop. I was walking down the street to get some milk. She greeted me. This is general writing.

morning, afternoon, evening, night.

2nd principle: You write something, and then all the writing that follows , follow the way this first word or words are doing, in a symmetrical way.

Not having a subject is so hard,

hard, hard, in a context

like this where a subject

has to be followed

I follow the subject even if there is no subject. That’s why I follow.

With no subject how do I find myself? locate myself? Is it the fullness of emptiness? Is it freeing? or imposing?

I don’t know.

Without a subject, my impulse is to find an impulse in the space. Something to meet, a ribbon of colour or experience or a crust of bread.

Not knowing empties me and frightens me at the same time. I can follow whatever impulse there is in me or from the outside but where does it lead me?

Will I lose myself in this impulse?

No subject is like a white canvas- either an invitation or a threat.

bottom of page